How old do you have to be to drive a boat in Minnesota? Answered

How old do you have to be to drive a boat in Minnesota?


How old do you have to be to drive a boat in Minnesota? The answer to this question is 18 years.

Anyone who is 18 years or older is legally allowed to drive a boat in Minnesota. The US state restricts people below this age to drive boats on its water. Any kind of motor equipped water vehicle is allowed to drive by anyone who is at least 18 years old. 

A boat is a big and heavy water vehicle and it needs enough experience and knowledge to operate it without any fault. A person who is at least 18 will surely have some prior experience of boat driving and its mechanisms. 

That's why the law of Minnesota allows only 18 years or older to handle a boat on its own water bodies. However, according to the particular law, anyone who is 18 or older is allowed to operate and drive any motor vehicle or personal watercraft on their own. 

And anyone who is younger than 13, is legally banned from doing it.

Minnesota comes under the upper midwest region of America. And its name is given after the river named Minnesota. However, this American state is mostly known for its awesome lakes and forests. So, it has a definite law and system to allow people to drive boats on the lakes. 

According to Minnesota's boating education, a person who lies in between the age group of 12 to 17, needs a boating education. And will be monitored and supervied by someone senior or experienced rider. 

However, if you lie between the ages of 14 to 17 years, then you also need a boating education. But the only difference will be that, you will be not supervised or monitored by someone else. Minnesota is kind of strict with it's boating laws and boating education. 

Apart all these age restrictions and stuff, a person who is not alone and with someone else in a boat needs to follow some certain rules. 

Whenever a kid younger than 10 years is being taken on a boat drive, he or she needs to wear a life jacket. No matter how experienced the boat driver is, if there is a kid with him/her. The kid have to wear a life jacket to sit with the driver. 

Now, let' discuss some additional facts to know about the Minnesota's boat driving laws. If you are driving a boat in Minnesota and you are an adult. Then the law allows you and your other mates to pen and have beer on the boat. 

It is completely legal to enjoy a beer trip with your friends, provided all of them are adults. However, cases of over drinking is completely not allowed. You are not allowed to over drink while driving the boat. Once you are found overdrunk, you and all your friends will be arrested by the water police asap.

So, it is well concluded that a person who is 18 years or older is allowed to drive a boat in Minnesota legally.

Comments