Can a 13 year old drive a jet ski? (Answered in details with explanation)

Can a 13 year old drive a jet ski?


Can a 13 year old drive a jet ski? The answer to this question is YES.

Yes, a 13-year-old can drive a Jet ski all alone. However, in most parts of the United States, people who lie between 12 to 18 years of age are allowed to drive a Jet ski alone. Jet ski requires a person to be at least 12 years old to ride it all alone. 

Jet Ski is one of the many fast water vehicles known to provide you with thrill and adventure. It is a great experience to ride a Jetski on the water, all by yourself. These water vehicles seem like a bike, the only difference is that it's being driven on the water. 

The age restrictions are made in the sense that a person who is driving a water vehicle like Jetski, should know its mechanisms. They should know the right way to drive a Jetski and to control it with the flow of water. 

People who are too young (less than 12 years old) are not allowed to take their Jetski alone. Coz it contains a lot of danger and threats to go on a Jetski drive being that young.

13-year-olds are allowed to drive a Jetski by law. But most of the Jetski manufacturers have certain restrictions regarding the age of drivers. They recommend anyone who is at least 16 years to drive a jet ski all by themselves. 

They believe that 16-year-olds are enough mature and grown up to handle a jet ski on the water. They believe that 16-year-olds have an adequate body size, and they are capable of driving the ski efficiently.

By the age of 16, kids are able to reach the footwells and handlebars well and they are also comfortable with the vehicle's seat. The more comfortable they are, the safer will be the ride. 

Moreover, 16-year-olds have good experience with their motor equipped bikes and cycles. They have a good experience with riding bikes and which may help them to drive their Jetski as well.

Specifically talking about 13-year-olds, states like New Mexico, Texas and Montana have it as a minimum age requirement to allow a person alone. 

However, the age limit varies with state and it keeps on changing, but the one thing you need to keep constant is safety. 

You must send your teen equipped with all the safety stuff, where a personal floating device is a must. Apart from it, your teen needs to take sunscreen, a helmet, gloves and first aid with him or her.

If he or she is riding with the cell phone and any other electronic gadget, then a dry box or a separate bag for phones should also be taken.

Ask him or her to take something good for eye protection, maybe a sunglass or something else like goggles or eye protectors.

So, it is well concluded that a person who is 13 years old is capable of driving a jet ski by law. And it is kind of legal in states like New Mexico, Texas and Montana.

Comments